Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Sections
Personal tools
You are here: Home Forum Using data sets What is what in PVC-2?

What is what in PVC-2?

Up to Using data sets

What is what in PVC-2?

Posted by Ilya Kuzovkin at November 10. 2014

Hi community :)

My name is Ilya, I am a PhD student at the Computational Neuroscience lab in University of Tartu and I have a few questions about the PVC-2 dataset.

I am interested in the part of the dataset related to the natural images (<pre>crcns-pvc2/2D_noise_natural</pre>;) and I have a trouble understanding the structure of the data​:

1) In the articles it is mentioned that "three distinct natural ensembles were used in this study", but there are 8 <pre>Equalpower*</pre> files inside the <pre>Stimulus_Files</pre>. Why is that? What letters A,B,C and numbers 1,2,3 mean? Are these different sequences of images or same images but in different order?

2) Inside the <pre>Spike_and_Log_Files</pre> folder we have folders with names like <pre>030605.A.b02</pre>. What does the <pre>b02</pre> part mean? Is it the code for the test subject (cat)? Or it is an ID of a neuron?

3) Inside the folder <pre>030605.A.b02</pre> there are files with names <pre>030605.A.b02cequalpower_B3.sa0</pre>, <pre>030605.A.b02dequalpower_B3.sa0</pre>, <pre>030605.A.b02eequalpower_B3.sa0</pre>. What those letters <b>c, d, e</b> indicate?

4) The description of the data says that the data was recorded from 60 channels. But for every <pre>.sa0</pre> file when I load it using <pre>fget_hdr</pre> the <pre>hdr.DataInfo.Channel</pre> is always 0. What is the correct way to interpret this number?

Re: What is what in PVC-2?

Posted by Jonathan Touryan at December 29. 2014

Ilya, I have posted some answers to your questions below. This data was collected some time ago, so my recollections are limited. However, I have reviewed some of my data and notes and can hopefully shed some light on your questions: